It's Leo Season!

What do you leave as offerings to your Self?

Time to celebrate your Self, . Time to connect with the childlike joy and wonder for the world & people around you. Time to look at your Self in the mirror and truly SEE yourself. How often do you really connect with the visage that others see every day when interacting with you? How often do you affirm,

“Yes, that is me. Yes, this is me. Yes, I am ALIVE & I am grateful to be here making change on this Earth.”

I know for many of us trans folks it can be hard to feel at peace with our physical bodies and appearance. It can bring dysphoria back up to the surface to do this sort of mirror work. I’m not here to force you to do anything that would bring discomfort you know you can’t handle. However, if you’re curious, if you’re open to it, try mirror work. It can be so fascinating to stare at ourselves for a prolonged period of time. Noticing the thoughts and feelings that flow in and out of our bodyminds. Let them come & go, meditation style.

Month of the Horse

With another month, comes another monthly reflection. In my Year Ahead Spread, it is the month of the Horse. Combined with my Year’s Theme of the Firefly, it makes for a very interesting energy. To the Firefly, the Horse is a giant. An unfathomable size and creature. To the Horse, the Firefly can be either the sparkling lights it sees surrounding its pastures or a nuisance to swat with its tail.

This month I’m choosing into the Horse’s viewpoint of being dazzled and bewildered by the glittering lights that cover the pasture at night. I choose into the awe & wonder of the Firefly as it dances through the air over the sleeping Horse’s body.

I choose to let the fleeting inspirations & flashes of light from the Firefly to continue to spur the momentum & movement provided by the Horse. I continue to commit to my practice of infusing intention and magic into my daily life. I bring dedication and discipline to my creative practice as an offering in reverence to my being.

So it shall be.

To you, dear , I say this. I believe that our mind and body are part of the altar that make us the divine beings that we are. They are the altar that serves our soul. So, I ask;

  • How do you incorporate reverence into your daily practices?

  • What do you leave at the foot of the altar to your Self?

  • What are you adorning your Self with?

  • What energies, thoughts, people, ideas occupy your mind?

  • Are those things you want to keep offering your Self?

And none of these have to be literal offerings or adornments. It doesn’t have to be a physical or tangible thing if that doesn’t land for you. Instead, you can treat it as a thought exercise, using the metaphor of your bodymind as an altar and your soul as the deity.

Till soon,

Maverick Lumen; They/佢

I am currently working, playing, and living as a settler of mixed race on the traditional unceded territory of the sq̓əc̓iy̓aɁɬ təməxʷ (Katzie), Kwantlen, Musqueam, Semiahmoo, S’ólh Téméxw (Stó:lō), sc̓əwaθenaɁɬ təməxʷ (Tsawwassen), and Tsleil-Waututh peoples. This is also part of the traditional marine territory of the Hul’qumi’num Treaty Group, which represents several Indigenous groups covering Vancouver Island, the Gulf Islands, and the lower Fraser River. Find out whose land you're on here.